[Copland & Bruckner] Photo by David DeNee
Photo by David DeNee

The Orchestra Now Presents

Copland & Bruckner

Conducted by Leon Botstein, music director

Aaron Copland: Clarinet Concerto
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 5

The Orchestra Now’s first concert of the 2016–17 concert season features Aaron Copland’s Clarinet Concerto and Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 5. Legendary bandleader Benny Goodman premiered Copland’s concerto on an NBC radio broadcast in 1950. Viktor Toth ‘16, recent graduate of the Bard College Conservatory of Music, will perform this jazz-infused and bittersweet work for a contemporary audience. Tempestuous and stunning, Anton Bruckner’s rarely performed Symphony No. 5 eagerly awaits new listeners. Written during a time of considerable stress in the composer’s life, it is sometimes referred to as the “Tragic” or “Church of Faith” symphony.