[Four Quartets] Photo by Maria Baranova
Photo by Maria Baranova

Four Quartets

Four Quartets is co-commissioned by the Fisher Center, the Center for the Art of Performance at UCLA, Barbican, London, and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts.

Text by T. S. Eliot
Choreography by Pam Tanowitz
Music by Kaija Saariaho; performed by The Knights
Images by Brice Marden 
with Kathleen Chalfant
Scenic and Lighting Design by Clifton Taylor
Costume Design by Reid Bartelme and Harriet Jung
Sound Design by Jean-Baptiste Barriére

The Bard SummerScape commission travelled to the Barbican Theatre, London, May 22–25, 2019 and will be at UCLA’s Center for the Art of Performance in 2020.

The world tour of Four Quartets is sponsored by
Cultural Services of the French Embassy

Four Quartets, T. S. Eliot’s mysterious and beautiful masterpiece, is a meditation on time and timelessness and is now prized as one of the 20th century’s most stunning literary achievements. Seventy-five years after its publication, Eliot’s poetry cycle has inspired three astonishing contemporary artists to join forces in a ravishing union of dance, music, painting, and poetry. American choreographer Pam Tanowitz, legendary composer Kaija Saariaho, and American modernist painter Brice Marden are creating a vast and thrilling performance from Eliot’s meditations on past and present, time and space, movement and stillness. Joining them is Tony Award–nominated actress Kathleen Chalfant (Angels in America, Wit) performing  Eliot’s text live. This unprecedented collaboration, the first authorized performance based on Four Quartets, promises to be one of the must-see events of the year.
“One of the most formally brilliant choreographers around.”— New York Times on Pam Tanowitz