[Handel & Strauss] Photo by David DeNee
Photo by David DeNee

Handel & Strauss

This concert pairs three works from the early 20th Century—including R. Strauss' elegiac Metamorphosen, written in the final months of WWII—with Handel's baroque Water Music Suite, composed for one of King George I’s royal water parties that took place on the River Thames on 7.17.1717.

Leon Botstein conductor

Handel Water Music Suite No. 1
Schoenberg Chamber Symphony No. 1
Silvestre Revueltas Cuauhnáhuac
Strauss Metamorphosen
Estimated run time: 1 hour and 45 minutes