[New Voices from the 1930s] Carlos Chávez
Carlos Chávez

New Voices from the 1930s

Leon Botstein unearths more rarely-heard masterpieces in this concert spotlighting works from the late 1930s, including William Grant Still’s evocative portrait of enslaved people taking refuge while seeking freedom, and Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s commentary on conditions under the Nazi regime. These works are performed alongside Carlos Chávez’s virtuosic Piano Concerto and Witold Lutosławski’s adventurous Symphonic Variations.

Leon Botstein conductor
Gilles Vonsattel piano
Frank Corliss piano

William Grant Still Dismal Swamp
Carlos Chávez Piano Concerto
Witold Lutosławski Symphonic Variations
Karl Amadeus Hartmann Symphony No. 1, Essay for a Requiem

Estimated run time: 2 hours and 20 minute

Livestreaming this Performance?
Please visit this page on the date and time of the event to view the livestream.

For more information about livestreams–including viewing best practices–please visit our FAQs.