[Shostakovich & Dawson] Tuskegee University Archives
Tuskegee University Archives

Shostakovich & Dawson

TŌN begins its seventh season with William L. Dawson’s distinctive and emotionally charged Negro Folk Symphony. The composer said he wanted listeners to know that it was "unmistakably not the work of a white man." Also on the program is Shostakovich’s enormous and patriotic 7th Symphony, Leningrad, written largely after he had fled the city following the German invasion during WWII.   

Leon Botstein conductor

William L. Dawson Negro Folk Symphony
Shostakovich Symphony No. 7, Leningrad
Estimated run time: 2 hours and 20 minutes