The Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College

Fisher Center Events

Bard SummerScape presents

Rodgers & Hammerstein's 
Oklahoma!

[Rodgers & Hammerstein's Oklahoma!] Photo by Julieta Cervantes
Photo by Julieta Cervantes
Music by Richard Rodgers
Book and Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II
Original Dances by Agnes de Mille
Based on the play Green Grow the Lilacs by Lynn Riggs
New Music Arrangements Daniel Kluger
New Choreography John Heginbotham
Directed by Daniel Fish


The entire run of Oklahoma! is sold out!
For sold-out performances you may add your name to a wait list in person, one hour prior to curtain in the LUMA lobby.  Entry is not guaranteed.

More than seven decades after its wartime premiere, director Daniel Fish (Rocket to the Moon, SummerScape 2005) invites us to experience Oklahoma! in an entirely new way—a revelatory chamber production where actors and audience come together as one community, sharing food, music, and song. 

Rodgers and Hammerstein’s first collaboration overturned the conventions of musical theater when it premiered in 1943, introducing an unprecedented depth of psychological realism to a form better known for light comic entertainment. Set in the Territory of Oklahoma in the years before statehood, this complex drama combines the sunny romance of farm girl Laurey Williams and cowboy Curly McClain with the darker story of a community rising up against a reviled outsider, Jud Fry.   

Like his contemporary Carlos Chávez, Richard Rodgers turned to folk sources to create a new national musical identity, in a score that includes many of his best-loved songs, including “Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin’,” “Many a New Day,” and “I Cain’t Say No.”Staged in the round with audience members seated at long tables and featuring new music arrangements for a six-piece band, this intimate Oklahoma! offers you the chance to experience Rodgers and Hammerstein’s exuberant, complex musical as if for the first time.  

Due to the intimate nature of this production and moments of violence, children under the age of 12 will not be admitted.

Creative Team

Directed by Daniel Fish
New Music Arrangements by Daniel Kluger
New Choreography by John Heginbotham
Music Direction by Nathan Koci
Scenic Design by Laura Jellinek (based on an original concept by John Conklin)
Costume Design by Terese Wadden
Lighting Design by Scott Zielinski
Sound Design by Drew Levy
Projection Design by Joshua Thorson


Download: Oklahoma Seating Chart.pdf

Ticket Information

Fisher Center, LUMA Theater

Tickets start at $25
Download Oklahoma! Seating Chart (PDF)

This event occurred on:

Thu. June 25, 7:30 pm
Fri. June 26, 7:30 pm
Sat. June 27, 7:30 pm
Sun. June 28, 2 pm
Wed. July 1, 2 pm
Thu. July 2, 7:30 pm
Fri. July 3, 7:30 pm
Sat. July 4, 2 pm
Sat. July 4, 7:30 pm
Sun. July 5, 2 pm
Sun. July 5, 7:30 pm
Wed. July 8, 2 pm
Thu. July 9, 7:30 pm
Fri. July 10, 7:30 pm
Sat. July 11, 2 pm
Sat. July 11, 7:30 pm
Sun. July 12, 2 pm
Sun. July 12, 7:30 pm
Wed. July 15, 2 pm
Wed. July 15, 7:30 pm
Thu. July 16, 7:30 pm
Fri. July 17, 7:30 pm
Sat. July 18, 2 pm
Sat. July 18, 7:30 pm
Sun. July 19, 2 pm
Sun. July 19, 7:30 pm


Contribute

Please consider becoming a Friend of the Fisher Center and enjoy the many benefits of membership including invitations to exclusive events and access to special services.