SummerScape 2024 Season Announced!

Bard Music Festival

Out of the Silence:A Celebration of MusicProgram Three

September 19, 2020

Add to Calendar2020-09-19 5:30 pm2020-09-19 5:30 pmESTOut of the Silence:A Celebration of MusicProgram Three
Loading Events

Program Three opens with the Adagio trágico by Roque Cordero, who infused twelve-tone writing with the folk rhythms of his native Panama.

In his Four Novelettes, Anglo-African late-Romantic composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor demonstrates graceful lyricism with a light, balletic touch that is almost reminiscent of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, subject of the festival’s 1998 season, whose soulful Serenade for Strings concludes the concert.

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, Andrés Rivas, and Zachary Schwartzman

Roque Cordero (1917–2008)
Adagio trágico (1955)

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875–1912)
Four Novelettes, Op. 52 (1903)
Allegro moderato
Andante con moto
Allegro molto

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840–93)
Serenade for Strings, Op. 48 (1880)
Pezzo in forma di sonatina: Andante non troppo—Allegro moderato
Valse: Moderato—Tempo di Valse
Élégie: Larghetto elegiaco
Finale (Tema Russo): Andante—Allegro con spirito