SummerScape 2024 • On Sale Now!

Pam Tanowitz Dance & FLUX Quartet

Bard SummerScape 2015 presented the Fisher Center debut of New York’s Pam Tanowitz Dance, showcasing the choreography of Bessie Award-winner Pam Tanowitz. A triple bill, the program features the world premiere of Tanowitz’s Untitled (solo for Ashley Tuttle), set to music by Mexico’s Carlos Chávez—subject of the 2015 Bard Music Festival—and danced by former American Ballet Theatre principal Ashley Tuttle. Bookending the new work are two of Tanowitz’s most recent ensemble pieces, Broken Story (wherein there is no ecstasy) and Heaven on One’s Head, named “Among 2014’s Best” by the New York Times, with live music from FLUX Quartet, which “has brought a new renaissance to string quartet music” (Village Voice).


Artistic Direction and Choreography Pam Tanowitz

FLUX Quartet
Tom Chiu, violin
Conrad Harris, violin
Max Mandel, viola
Felix Fan, cello

Lighting Design Davison Scandrett
Costume Design Reid Bartelme

Carlos Chávez
Ted Hearne
David Lang
Conlon Nancarrow
Caroline Shaw

Additional Musicians
Pauline Kim Harris, violin
Michael Scales, piano

Andrew Champlin
Maggie Cloud
Dylan Crossman
Sarah Haarmann
Lindsey Jones
Vincent McCloskey
Stuart Singer
Melissa Toogood
Ashley Tuttle

Read the Full Program